Paid Search

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  • 5 Common AdWords Script Mistakes

    PPC Hero
    Jacob Fairclough
    1 Aug 2014 | 4:45 am
    When writing code many of the issues arise from a group of common mistakes. By knowing where to look first you can save time and energy tracking these down. Read more at PPCHero.com
  • Creating Personas for PPC

    Portent » PPC
    Elizabeth Marsten
    31 Jul 2014 | 11:03 am
    “Persona” is not a PPC word, but it’s certainly been seeing a lot more attention as we shift more and more away from keywords to audiences, intent, behaviors and (not provided). Some marketers keep their personas in their heads, some write them on Post-Its and some have fully written profiles with pictures and graphs. I did a Live Ad Copy Workshop at PPC HeroCon where I gave out Post-Its in the furtive hope that attendees would take them home and write personas and stick them on their monitors. My favorite was for a site that sold compression stockings. We ended up coming up ads for…
  • SearchCap: Foursquare Experts, Google Blessings & LinkedIn B2B Tools

    Search Engine Land: News & Info About SEO, PPC, SEM, Search Engines & Search Marketing
    Barry Schwartz
    1 Aug 2014 | 1:00 pm
    Below is what happened in search today, as reported on Search Engine Land and from other places across the web. From Search Engine Land: Why Traditional Call Tracking Is No Longer Relevant – August 12th Webcast Digital Marketing Depot presents “Why Traditional Call Tracking Is No Longer Relevant:... Please visit Search Engine Land for the full article.
  • 30% of Traffic to Insurance Sites Came from Search in June

    Search Engine Watch - Latest
    Jessica Lee
    1 Aug 2014 | 10:00 am
    Data coming from Millward Brown Digital shows leading insurance brands received 30 percent on average of website traffic from search in June. Other top performers in Q2 in the search results included GEICO and Progressive.
  • Helping shoppers decide with product ratings on Google Shopping

    Inside AdWords
    Rob Newton
    29 Jul 2014 | 8:00 am
    Product reviews provide critical information to shoppers making purchase decisions. To help shoppers easily find this information when searching for products, we’re introducing product ratings on Product Listing Ads.Shoppers in the United States will see product ratings appear in the form of stars and review counts on Product Listing Ads across google.com and google.com/shopping. This 5-star rating system represents aggregated rating and review data for the product, compiled from multiple sources including merchants, third party aggregators, editorial sites and users.Product ratings for…
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    Search Engine Land: News & Info About SEO, PPC, SEM, Search Engines & Search Marketing

  • SearchCap: Foursquare Experts, Google Blessings & LinkedIn B2B Tools

    Barry Schwartz
    1 Aug 2014 | 1:00 pm
    Below is what happened in search today, as reported on Search Engine Land and from other places across the web. From Search Engine Land: Why Traditional Call Tracking Is No Longer Relevant – August 12th Webcast Digital Marketing Depot presents “Why Traditional Call Tracking Is No Longer Relevant:... Please visit Search Engine Land for the full article.
  • Why Traditional Call Tracking Is No Longer Relevant – August 12th Webcast

    Search Engine Land
    1 Aug 2014 | 9:03 am
    Digital Marketing Depot presents “Why Traditional Call Tracking Is No Longer Relevant: Emerging Trends for Call Tracking in 2014″ on Tuesday, August 12th at 1 PM EDT. Carlton van Putten from ContactPoint will share emerging trends for call tracking in 2014. He will explain why... Please visit Search Engine Land for the full article.
  • Google Quick Answers For Jewish Food Blessings

    Barry Schwartz
    1 Aug 2014 | 8:52 am
    Google is now offering the answers for what blessings observant Jewish people should make prior to consuming food or drinks in their quick answers. The term for blessing in Hebrew is ‘Bracha‘ and if you search for [bracha for yogurt], Google will return a quick answer telling you what... Please visit Search Engine Land for the full article.
  • Foursquare “Experts” Reintroduces Gamification Into New App

    Greg Sterling
    1 Aug 2014 | 7:30 am
    In order to broaden its appeal Foursquare has been backing away from its origins as a “check-in app” for a long time. The banishment of check-ins into a separate app, Swarm, seemed to mark a complete break with the company’s “gamification” legacy. Not so apparently.... Please visit Search Engine Land for the full article.
  • How To Use LinkedIn As A B2B Link Prospect Development Tool

    Derek Edmond
    1 Aug 2014 | 6:39 am
    It’s no secret that LinkedIn is widely considered one of the top social media platforms for B2B marketers. As illustrated in the fourth annual B2B Content Marketing: 2014 Benchmarks, Budgets, and Trends report, put out by the Content Marketing Institute and MarketingProfs, 91% of B2B content... Please visit Search Engine Land for the full article.
 
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    PPC Hero

  • 5 Common AdWords Script Mistakes

    Jacob Fairclough
    1 Aug 2014 | 4:45 am
    When writing code many of the issues arise from a group of common mistakes. By knowing where to look first you can save time and energy tracking these down. Read more at PPCHero.com
  • Google Analytics App Now Available for the iPhone

    Jacob Brown
    31 Jul 2014 | 11:00 am
    Google Analytics launches app for the iPhone. Read more at PPCHero.com
  • Advanced ABCs of PPC – Terminology & Strategies to Remember

    Kayla Kurtz
    31 Jul 2014 | 8:30 am
    Uncover advanced PPC terminology and concepts to keep in mind as you manage your paid search campaigns. Read more at PPCHero.com
  • A Review of Hero Pro’s Bid Adjusters

    Jonathan Levey
    31 Jul 2014 | 5:01 am
    Hero Pro's Bid Adjusters allow you to determine which devices are most effective, as well as the time and geo-location of your traffic, and adjust accordingly. Read more at PPCHero.com
  • Is Your Agency Throwing Out These Red Flags?

    Jamie Newton
    31 Jul 2014 | 4:45 am
    Working with an agency can be a scary thing. It’s not always easy to know if the business relationship is working in a favorable manner. Transparency and good communication are … Read more at PPCHero.com
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    Search Engine Watch - Latest

  • 30% of Traffic to Insurance Sites Came from Search in June

    Jessica Lee
    1 Aug 2014 | 10:00 am
    Data coming from Millward Brown Digital shows leading insurance brands received 30 percent on average of website traffic from search in June. Other top performers in Q2 in the search results included GEICO and Progressive.
  • Twitter Buys Image Search Company Madbits

    Ashley Zeckman
    1 Aug 2014 | 9:00 am
    Twitter hasn't traditionally been known for their image capabilities. However, that may be about to change as image search company Madbits earlier this week announced via their website that they were joining Twitter.
  • How to Eventually Become a Millionaire Using Your SEO Knowledge

    Peter van der Graaf
    1 Aug 2014 | 6:30 am
    There are many types of SEO services you can offer and running your own websites might even be more profitable. But what are the most lucrative ways to offer your SEO expertise? Here are a few potential career choices for SEO experts.
  • Fake Googlebot Activity up 61% [Report]

    Kristine Schachinger
    1 Aug 2014 | 4:30 am
    One in every 24 visits is a fake Googlebot. Identifying bad bots can be tricky; some are very sophisticated, especially the ones mimicking Google. Here are some steps you can take to verify whether you're getting faked visits.
  • Danny Goodwin Leaves Search Engine Watch, Thank You & Goodbye

    Kristine Schachinger
    1 Aug 2014 | 3:30 am
    Today marks Danny Goodwin’s last day as my editor (and many others) at Search Engine Watch. So I want to take a moment and this brief article to thank Danny for being one of the best editors for which a writer could ask.
 
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    Inside AdWords

  • Helping shoppers decide with product ratings on Google Shopping

    Rob Newton
    29 Jul 2014 | 8:00 am
    Product reviews provide critical information to shoppers making purchase decisions. To help shoppers easily find this information when searching for products, we’re introducing product ratings on Product Listing Ads.Shoppers in the United States will see product ratings appear in the form of stars and review counts on Product Listing Ads across google.com and google.com/shopping. This 5-star rating system represents aggregated rating and review data for the product, compiled from multiple sources including merchants, third party aggregators, editorial sites and users.Product ratings for…
  • Introducing Dynamic Sitelinks

    Rob Newton
    24 Jul 2014 | 4:30 pm
    Whether it’s shopping for a TV or planning a trip, people perform multiple searches when completing activities online. Sitelinks have long helped to connect people to the content they’re looking for by linking to specific pages on your websites -- directly from your ad, with just a single click.Today, we’re introducing dynamic sitelinks: automatically generated sitelinks that appear below your ad text, connecting potential customers to relevant pages on your website more easily. This is another example, like seller ratings, of AdWords tools adding value to your ads while saving time and…
  • Advertising on your schedule with AdWords Express

    Rob Newton
    16 Jul 2014 | 8:01 am
    Small businesses know the importance of being online, but running that first ad can be overwhelming. Google introduced AdWords Express to help small businesses start advertising online easily, without the need for daily management. Fast-forward nearly three years to today, and businesses around the world are seeing success with AdWords Express.Nick Valle, owner of Nick’s Towing and Roadside Assistance, uses AdWords Express to run his business from the road. After a decade of driving an 18-wheeler and working part-time for a towing company, Nick decided to start his own small business. He…
  • Scale your Shopping campaigns with bulk uploads and AdWords Editor

    Rob Newton
    15 Jul 2014 | 8:08 am
    With less than eight weeks left until regular Product Listing Ad (PLA) campaigns retire, we're excited that the majority of PLA advertisers have already started taking advantage of Shopping campaigns, and 85% of these have already fully upgraded. Advertisers who’ve upgraded like Farfetch, US Mattress, LiBoutique and ValuePetSupplies are seeing great success thanks to the retail-centric interface, item-level reporting and competitive benchmark data.For those of you who’ve upgraded, we’re excited to introduce two new tools to make campaign management, specifically bid optimization,…
  • A simpler way to manage your business locations in AdWords

    Rob Newton
    14 Jul 2014 | 12:35 pm
    We’re excited to introduce upgraded location extensions, a better way to display your business locations in every ad by linking your Google My Business and AdWords accounts.Consumers increasingly look online for information such as driving directions, store hours, and products and services available at local businesses. Research shows that 50% of consumers visit a store within one day of searching for local information on their smartphones.As people are likely to visit a store based on what they see in online search, it’s important to capture every opportunity to showcase your locations.
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    RKGBlog

  • Google Introduces PLA Product Ratings

    Melissa Rowland
    29 Jul 2014 | 8:15 am
    Earlier today, Google officially announced a new extension for Product Listing Ads called Product Ratings. Similar to Seller Ratings, Product Ratings are displayed on a 5-star ranking system based on aggregated data from a variety of sources across the web. These sources include merchants, editorial sites, third party aggregators, and users. How Does This Extension Interact With Other PLA Extensions? The Product Ratings extension is fairly low on the PLA extension priority list. Local Inventory Ads (Local PLA’s), Merchant Promotions, and Automatic Price Drops will supposedly all trump…
  • Video: Panda 4.0 – Anatomy of the Latest Bear

    Ben Goodsell
    25 Jul 2014 | 9:08 am
    Most digital marketers by now have beefed up their websites to abide by the notorious web content criteria set forth in Google’s 2011 Panda algorithm (you should be nodding your head in agreement). But don’t assume you’re safe to flip on the auto-pilot switch (ever)—Panda 4.0 is here to keep your site on its proverbial toes. Dive into the technical inner workings of Google’s updated algorithm in this video from RKG Senior Search Analyst Ben Goodsell.   VIDEO TRANSCRIPT Ben Goodsell:  Hey, welcome to the RKG Blog for another video. I’m Ben Goodsell, Senior…
  • Video: A Close Look at How Brands Leverage Facebook

    George Kamide
    18 Jul 2014 | 5:21 pm
    In a prior blog post from Price Thomas, you learned tips for optimizing your social media program for Facebook. In the video below, see shining examples of how brands engage and build audiences on Facebook with help from tools and data that you, too, can access and implement into your own social media strategy. Also, check back for a video on optimizing your social media program for Twitter, and a follow-up video illustrating how brands effectively leverage the platform in 140 characters or less, right here on the RKG Blog.   At the end of this video, watch Price’s previous video…
  • RKG Digital Marketing Report: Q2 2014 Released

    Mark Ballard
    15 Jul 2014 | 10:04 am
    We are happy to announce the release of the RKG Digital Marketing Report for Q2 2014. This quarter’s report offers over 50 charts with insights and analysis on trends in paid search, search engine optimization, social media, product listing ads (PLAs), comparison shopping engines, display advertising and more. Click Here to Download the RKG DMR for Q2 2014 After a slow start to the calendar year, U.S. paid search spending growth accelerated throughout the first quarter and remained elevated during the second. Google saw a 24% increase in ad spend from Q2 of last year, as PLAs continued…
  • RKG on SEL — George Michie’s Posts

    George Michie
    14 Jul 2014 | 6:25 am
    We all get behind in our reading periodically. I still write pretty regularly for Search Engine Land and we don’t republish these on RKG Blog anymore. I thought I’d give a quick synopsis of the posts I’ve written for them recently with links to the full post. PLAs: Cannibals? Allies? Or Both?: In response to many of our clients seeing slowed growth rates in paid search text ads, I dug into the question of whether the huge growth of PLAs was coming at the expense of paid search text ads and/or organic links. Overthrow the Tyranny of Paid Search Budgets: Budgeting paid search?
 
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    The Clix Marketing Blog

  • The Clix Marketing Blog’s Weekly #PPC News & Views: Aug 1, 2014

    Michelle Morehouse
    1 Aug 2014 | 7:38 am
    Welcome to this week’s edition of the Clix Marketing Blog’s PPC News & Views! From the Experts Portent Creating Personas for PPC: Creating personas for your PPC campaigns can be a very strong tool to help you develop keyword lists, ad copy, and landing page tests by taking advantage of customer information. Check out this post by Elizabeth Marsten to learn the ins and outs of developing PPC personas. Search Engine Watch 17 Keys to Success in Social PPC: Melissa Mackey has done it again with a great list of tips to succeed in social media as well as breaking it down and giving tips for…
  • We’re Hiring! Are You Clix Marketing’s Next PPC All Star?

    Michelle Morehouse
    30 Jul 2014 | 8:26 am
    Clix Marketing is expanding our current team of PPC pros to continue providing top tier service and stellar results to our valued clients. Are you a PPC expert who’s well versed in Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and can navigate the social advertising field with ease? Then you might be just who we’re looking for! On top of being a PPC expert, you’ll need to have a few other skills. Here’s a little about you. You’re someone who loves day to day interactions with clients. You’re able to analyze PPC campaigns for performance and develop strategies to continually…
  • Building PPC Muscle

    Robert Brady
    30 Jul 2014 | 6:54 am
    A couple weeks ago I wrote a post about how to recharge your PPC skills when you start to feel a little burned out. Staying fresh is important so that you can bring your A-game to your campaigns. Today I’d like to talk about bulking up your PPC skills. Consistency As with any discussion about exercising, an underlying principle to success is consistency. You don’t go to the gym one day, do an awesome workout, not go for two months and then expect to win a bodybuilding competition. You need to go to the gym every day. Some of those days won’t be the most awesome workout, but…
  • The Clix Marketing Blog’s Weekly #PPC News & Views: July 25, 2014

    Michelle Morehouse
    25 Jul 2014 | 8:25 am
    Welcome to this week’s edition of the Clix Marketing Blog’s PPC News & Views! About the Experts Earlier this week, both PPC Hero and Clix Marketing put together lists of influential persons in the PPC industry. Here are those two posts for quick reference so you can be sure you’re connected to as much knowledge as possible. The Top 25 Most Influential PPC Experts in 2014 The Top Influential Women in PPC: Giving Credit Where Credit is Due From the Experts Certified Knowledge Learn About Search Intent: Why Mobile PPC Campaigns Are Different: Get insights about adjusting your campaigns…
  • The Top Influential Women in PPC: Giving Credit Where Credit is Due

    Michelle Morehouse
    22 Jul 2014 | 10:15 am
    Earlier today, our friends over at PPC Hero posted their awesome The Top 25 Most Influential PPC Experts in 2014 list based on community votes and a couple other factors. Their list is fantastic and full of awesome PPC-ers, but talks in the twitter-verse have been discussing the lack of women on the list. So in an attempt to give praise where it’s due, Clix decided to put together our own list of influential women in PPC. Without further ado, here’s Clix Marketing’s list of the Top Influential Women in PPC. Bethany Bey Twitter: @Bethany_Bey Senior Trainer Cardinal Path…
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    John Battelle's Search Blog

  • NewCo Sizzle Reel, SF Sked Are Up!

    jbat
    30 Jul 2014 | 12:06 pm
    The post NewCo Sizzle Reel, SF Sked Are Up! appeared first on John Battelle's Search Blog. It’s hard to describe what it’s like to attend a NewCo till you’ve been to one, but this video, below, should certainly help. It comes right on the heels of NewCo’s SF schedule going up, which for those of you who’ve never been is like announcing the lineup at Bonnaroo for those of us in the NewCo world. In SF, companies opening their doors include Medium, Carbon Lighthouse, ACT, IFTTT, the melt, Lit Motors, Salesforce, Bloomberg, OpenTable, Scoot, NextDoor, and 100+…
  • It’s Time For Twitter To Filter Our Feeds. But How?

    jbat
    27 Jul 2014 | 3:41 pm
    The post It’s Time For Twitter To Filter Our Feeds. But How? appeared first on John Battelle's Search Blog. (image) “We don’t put an algorithm between you and your feed.” – Twitter exec Adam Bain, March 2013 “Please do.” Me, today Twitter has always appealed to tinkerers, to makers, to the people who first took up blogging, who championed RSS and HTML in the early days – you know, the people who created the open web. And because of that, Twitter has always had a strong dose of egalitarianism in its DNA. Twitter expresses that DNA in a…
  • Content Marketing And the New Mainstream

    jbat
    8 Jul 2014 | 8:39 am
    The post Content Marketing And the New Mainstream appeared first on John Battelle's Search Blog. (image) On the eve of our third annual P&G Signal (a private event I’ve produced for P&G these past few years) comes this piece in HBR: The Content Marketing Revolution. Just this morning I was reflecting on the speed with which the idea that “all brands are publishers” has moved from evangelical blog post to standard business practice – less than four years since we officially canonized it at FM, and about seven since I first began writing about…
  • Else 7.7.14: You’re Not A Target Till You Are

    jbat
    7 Jul 2014 | 11:26 am
    The post Else 7.7.14: You’re Not A Target Till You Are appeared first on John Battelle's Search Blog. The past week brought fresh revelations about how the NSA targets US citizens, and new insights on the founders of Google, the history of technology, and ongoing stories from Facebook and the EU. To the links…. In NSA-intercepted data, those not targeted far outnumber the foreigners who are – The Washington Post - This is a long-ish read, but please, if you read only one story, read this one. The details are important, and most likely will be the basis of alot of debate…
  • On Media, Ro Khanna, the NSA, and the Future of the Internet: Bloomberg Video

    jbat
    2 Jul 2014 | 4:50 pm
    The post On Media, Ro Khanna, the NSA, and the Future of the Internet: Bloomberg Video appeared first on John Battelle's Search Blog. I had a chance to go on Bloomberg today and co-host with Cory and Emily, which was fun. They asked me about my post on Monday, and I answered thusly: I also got to help interview David Medine, who chairs the privacy task force for the Obama Administration: And Ro Khanna, who is running for Congress in the heart of Silicon Valley: And lastly, I got to opine on the future architecture of the Internet: The post On Media, Ro Khanna, the NSA, and the Future of…
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    Bing Ads & Microsoft Advertising Community

  • Social Media Marketing for Small Business: The Importance of Knowing Your Audience (Part 2 of 2)

    Tina Kelleher - MSFT
    31 Jul 2014 | 9:00 am
    If you've been following along with this series, you may have seen my first post covering the topic of how important it is to know your audience. This information is crucial because it helps you understand who your customers are, what's important to them, what they're passionate about and what motivates them to take action -- be it a sale, newsletter sign up for whatever a conversion looks like to you. Once you have a good sense of who it is you're trying to reach, you'll have a much clearer idea...(read more)
  • Bing Ads 隆重推出:在 Web UI 中檢視多達 10 萬關鍵字的帳戶

    Caroline Huang - MSFT
    31 Jul 2014 | 1:28 am
    Bing Ads 在今年稍早升級了網頁使用者介面 (UI),讓廣告主可以檢視在 [關鍵字] 索引標籤中有多達 50,000 個關鍵字的帳戶。我們也持續改善效能表現,在此很高興向您報告,現在可以檢視擁有多達 100,000 我們同時也對 [廣告群組] 及 [廣告] 索引標籤做了新的設定,以因應並支援更大的資料量。 Bing Ads 團隊會持續擴展 UI 供規模更大的帳戶使用,並已經開始針對多達 250,000 的帳戶進行試驗。關鍵字數量大於這些限制的帳戶如想在 UI…
  • Bing Ads 的實際連結網址自動標籤UTM功能

    Caroline Huang - MSFT
    31 Jul 2014 | 1:23 am
    我們經常收到來自各位客戶的意見反應,其中一個最常見的要求,就是希望能提供實際連結網址的自動標籤功能,以便可以在例如 Google Analytics 等網站分析工具中,追蹤付費關鍵字廣告活動的成效。 我們在此很高興跟各位宣布,Bing Ads 現在正式推出這項實用的功能了。…
  • Search Term Report 101: Eliminate Your Keyword Blind Spots in Bing Ads

    Kirk Williams - Guest Blogger
    30 Jul 2014 | 11:00 am
    Did you know you probably have your vehicle side mirrors set incorrectly? No, seriously. I found this out a few years ago and it is not an exaggeration to say it has revolutionized the way I drive. The Problem People usually set their side mirrors to duplicate their rearview mirror… that is, to see what’s behind them. What’s the problem with doing it this way? Well, the problem is this does nothing to combat that age old driving annoyance: blind spots. If you set your side...(read more)
  • Bing Ads is Getting a New Look and More

    Stephen Sirich - MSFT
    29 Jul 2014 | 8:00 am
    As I shared in my July 10 blog post, this is a great summer at Bing Ads. We’ve been listening carefully to our customers, and this video highlights our latest round of new and upcoming features in response to what we’ve heard. A few key updates include: Auto-tagging. We know it takes time and effort to manually tag the destination URLs for your ads. Now, Bing Ads handles it for you, providing more accurate reporting, and reducing time spent on managing campaigns. Online insertion...(read more)
 
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    Compete Blog

  • Getting Digital Right with Kelly Johnson

    Kristen Luongo
    30 Jul 2014 | 6:50 am
    This past April, Millward Brown Digital hosted the eleventh annual Digital CMO Summit in Miami, FL. The event brought together 200 industry leaders for three days of hard-hitting sessions and networking opportunities. The agenda was jam-packed with top-notch speakers who shared their perspectives on this year’s theme, #GettingDigitalRight. Over the next few weeks we plan to share with you the one-on-one video interviews with select speakers and attendees. “Bringing digital into the brand conversation is something that I focus on every day.” In the video, Kelly Johnson of ESPN shares her…
  • Sunday Series: Blogs & Beach Bods

    Laura Cantwell
    27 Jul 2014 | 7:10 am
    Image from: Fitness/Shutterstock After a brief hiatus, our Sunday Series is back! Our June data is officially live, and with the change in season comes a change in trends. One category to skyrocket in popularity this month was health and fitness blogs. As norms transition to skimpier clothing and frequent beach days, it comes as no surprise that this topic would have a major spike. Seriously, the summer bod is real. From May to June the traffic to these sites more than doubled. (It’s worth noting that traffic to these sites tends to increase in November as well, but presumably for different…
  • The Weekly Compete Pulse

    Laura Cantwell
    26 Jul 2014 | 7:30 am
    Have you seen the video of Charlie the dog apologizing to an infant for taking away her toy? Well, it’s awesome, and it’s gone viral. The video got massive attention on Facebook and Twitter this week, proving yet again the power of the retweet. Last week social media didn’t get a ton of love, so today’s Weekly Pulse includes three of our favorite articles on how to develop your social media marketing plan. Pair that with new findings concerning the “digital generation gap” and some insight on the CEO-SEO dynamic, and this edition of the Weekly Pulse will have you feeling like the…
  • June’s Top 50: Successes, Socials, and Struggles

    Laura Cantwell
    25 Jul 2014 | 8:16 am
    Image from: Social Media/Shutterstock #FlashbackFriday to June: the weather is warm, the living is easy, and summer data is still to be determined. Now flash forward to the present month where there’s excellent news! You can continue to sip that iced coffee daiquiri by your cubicle pool, but now you can do so with this season’s digital insight! You lucky dog. Take a look at how the other guys fared last month. Successes: With regard to MoM statistics, there were two sites that absolutely crushed it last month. Microsoft experienced close to 40% growth in the month of June, while Adobe is…
  • Getting Digital Right with Sargi Mann

    Kristen Luongo
    23 Jul 2014 | 7:51 am
    This past April, Millward Brown Digital hosted the eleventh annual Digital CMO Summit in Miami, FL. The event brought together 200 industry leaders for three days of hard-hitting sessions and networking opportunities. The agenda was jam-packed with top-notch speakers who shared their perspectives on this year’s theme, #GettingDigitalRight. Over the next few weeks we plan to share with you the one-on-one video interviews with select speakers and attendees. In this video, hear from Sargi Mann of Carat on the importance of reaching consumers across screens… “It’s not about getting…
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    Search Engine Journal

  • Embed A Tweet Within A Tweet On Twitter For Desktop by @mattsouthern

    Matt Southern
    1 Aug 2014 | 6:22 pm
    A feature that recently became available on Twitter’s mobile apps is now available on desktop, which is the ability to embed a tweet within a tweet. Embedding a tweet within a tweet couldn’t be easier. You just type out your tweet, include a link to the tweet you want to embed, and then publish it. The tweet you link to gets automatically embedded into your tweet. This is what the end result looks like: The links aren’t immediately clickable, so if someone’s embedded tweet looks interesting you have to click on it to expand it. Twitter’s desktop app, TweetDeck, doesn’t appear…
  • What People Probably Hate Most About Your Blog Posts by @albertcostill

    Albert Costill
    1 Aug 2014 | 5:33 am
    Whether you’re sharing your passion about a certain topic or looking to boost sales, blogging has become a way of life for a lot of people. In fact, when it comes to small businesses, blogging can have major impact. According to HubSpot, small businesses that blog receive 55% more website visitors, 102% more Twitter followers, and 126% higher lead growth than businesses who do not blog. The thing is, you can’t just blog for the sake of blogging. You have to understand your audience and create content that will keep them coming back for more. Even if you manage to connect with your fan…
  • What Craigslist Can Teach Us About SEO by @neilpatel

    Neil Patel
    1 Aug 2014 | 4:02 am
    Craigslist is an iconic website. It’s outrageously ugly, incredibly useful, amazingly relevant, and outstandingly successful. But why? I think Craigslist has some great SEO things going for it. So, I’m going to tell you a little bit about that. But it’s way more than SEO. Anytime a site has “great SEO” it also has other amazing things happening. “Great SEO” never appears in isolation. What follows in this article is a list of Craigslist’s most notable features, SEO included, and what we can learn from them. Focus on Functionality More Than Design Flair Craigslist hasn’t won…
  • eBay’s Head of SEO Takes on New Role at Searchmetrics [INTERVIEW] by @mattsouthern

    Matt Southern
    31 Jul 2014 | 12:59 pm
    Searchmetrics, an enterprise SEO platform company based in the US and Germany, announced today that Jordan Koene has left his position as eBay’s head of SEO and Content Development to join Searchmetrics as their Evangelist. From the press release: Koene, who was responsible for developing and planning eBay’s strategic SEO programs in North America and Europe, will be reporting to Searchmetrics’ founder and CTO, Marcus Tober. His new role involves working with enterprise businesses, helping them understand and plan how to maximize the value of search in their marketing mix with the…
  • How Are Search Marketers Using Twitter in 2014? by @jaysondemers

    Jayson DeMers
    31 Jul 2014 | 7:03 am
    For anyone looking to understand or reach professional search engine marketers (SEMs) online, Leadtail’s latest report, Social Media Insights: How Search Marketers Engage on Twitter provides a wealth of valuable information. Based on data collected from over 500 North American search marketers, the report gives us insight into what and whom SEMs are tweeting about. The report includes data about: Popular hashtags used by SEMs Which apps and platforms drive Twitter sharing among SEMs Popular sources of shared content Most retweeted and mentioned publishers and individuals This information is…
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    AdWords Agency Blog

  • Reaching the Digitally Savvy U.S. Hispanic Market

    Nicole Burgan
    28 Jul 2014 | 2:53 pm
    It’s projected that U.S. Hispanics will make up 30% of the country’s population by 2050.  It’s an audience that’s growing yet remains largely underserved, and now marketers have a huge opportunity to connect with this population through digital. Research shows that U.S. Hispanics lead in the adoption of new devices, and they are power users of mobile and video.On Think with Google, our Vice President of Americas Marketing, Lisa Gevelber, discusses three important lessons for marketers to keep in mind when looking to connect with these digital trendsetters.
  • Real-time in retail: Why acting quickly matters in search

    Nicole Burgan
    23 Jul 2014 | 8:02 am
    Cross-posted from the DoubleClick Search blogWhen consumers act, they act fast. Retailers can get a leg up in the marketplace by responding to consumers’ needs as they surface. While some events, such as holidays and championship games, can be anticipated, others, such as weather-related issues, cannot. Using real-time technologies in search, brands can dynamically adjust their reach, competitiveness and relevancy with their target audiences at the most critical times. In a new Think Insights article, Casandra Jones, Account Director at iProspect, tells us the benefits of adopting SEM tools…
  • Scale your Shopping campaigns with bulk uploads and AdWords Editor

    Nicole Burgan
    15 Jul 2014 | 10:24 am
    Cross-posted from the Inside Adwords blogWith less than eight weeks left until regular Product Listing Ad (PLA) campaigns retire, we're excited that the majority of PLA advertisers have already started taking advantage of Shopping campaigns, and 85% of these have already fully upgraded. Advertisers who’ve upgraded like Farfetch, US Mattress, LiBoutique and ValuePetSupplies are seeing great success thanks to the retail-centric interface, item-level reporting and competitive benchmark data.For those of you who’ve upgraded, we’re excited to introduce two new tools to make campaign…
  • Introducing Active View reporting in DoubleClick: A foundation for brand measurement

    Nicole Burgan
    15 Jul 2014 | 6:30 am
    Cross-posted from the DoubleClick Advertiser blog In an important step toward making brand measurement as actionable as the click, customers of our DoubleClick platform globally now have access to Active View reporting. Advertisers, agencies and publishers now have access to a common, integrated metric to evaluate and compare the viewability of impressions across the web.Digital advertising can provide brand marketers better measurement for their campaigns, but to do so, we must transition to a market where viewable impressions are a standard currency. On March 31, the Media Rating Council…
  • Kicking Off the Latest Art, Copy & Code Campaign: Nike’s “Phenomenal Shot”

    Nicole Burgan
    14 Jul 2014 | 3:00 am
    Last year, we launched our Art, Copy & Code project to partner with iconic brands, such as Volkswagen and Burberry, to reimagine how technology and creativity come together in advertising. In our latest collaboration, we’ve teamed up with Nike, Wieden + Kennedy, Mindshare and Grow for a new take on watching live sports.Today, watching live TV is a much more active experience because our devices are always within reach—on the coffee table, in our pockets or on our laps. Nearly 80% of consumers watch TV with a laptop, tablet or mobile phone nearby. After major events, these screens come…
 
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    aimClear® Blog

  • Hey Google, Is That Uber Organic Maps App Thingy A Native Ad? Need #Disclosure?

    Marty Weintraub
    30 Jul 2014 | 10:44 am
    Google mobile Maps application seems to be blurring lines between giving directions and possibly native ads, in support of upstart on-demand car service Uber. Keep in mind, Google Ventures invested $258 million in Uber last year, which was one of Google Venture’s largest deals ever. This post includes screen captures showing “Get an Uber” suggestions inserted in the Droid (Google OS) Google Maps app. There’s a lot of buzz out there about native ads and what level of disclosure is required.  The FTC updated their general .com Disclosure Guidelines last March and held a full day…
  • Paid Amplification is the Future! Merry Morud to Speak at #SearchEx, Charlotte

    Amber Krohn
    28 Jul 2014 | 11:29 am
    Destination…Charlotte, North Carolina! aimClear is jetting off to speak at the Search Exchange Internet Marketing Conference on July 28-30th held at the Charlotte Chamber of Commerce. The conference promises to bring back marketing experts from previous years, while also introducing new up and coming speakers.  Our Founder &  Evangelist, Marty Weintraub, has spoken at SearchEx multiple times and keynoted in 2013. The three-day conference designates each day to a unique aspect of internet marketing. Day One will dive into the power of PPC & Analytics. On Day Two, attendees can…
  • Top 25 Most Influential PPC Experts: Hanapin’s Yearly Love Fest Grows Up

    Marty Weintraub
    24 Jul 2014 | 11:31 am
    Ah, summer is in full force here in Duluth and THAT means just one thing: The annual PPC Hero Top 25 Most Influential PPC Experts has been released.  Administered each year by Hanapin Marketing (PPC Hero’s parent company), this fourth installation is pleasing even in how winners were chosen. The Hero Awards have matured nicely. In previous years, thought leaders surrounding PPC were considered and chosen because of industry respect. For instance, Danny Sullivan is a genius guy, but does not actually do PPC as part of his job. This year’s awards go to all hard-PPC-core players who walk…
  • YouTube Advertising, TrueView Ads & More! Manny Rivas to Speak at #ReelSummit

    Erica Melchior
    23 Jul 2014 | 6:27 am
    Google and YouTube have been amping up their advertiser toolsets for a while now. More people and companies continue to grab the video camera and run with it, promote videos organically and advertise with TrueView ad units. We’re excited that video advertising continues to flourish, but there are a few YouTube things every new marketer should understand before kicking off their next campaign. On Thursday, our own Manny Rivas, Online Advertising Director at aimClear, will be heading to Hotel Nikko in lovely San Francisco for Reel Video Summit 2014. He’ll speak and also help host a…
  • Succulent SEO Secrets, Tasty Tactics, #Visibility_14 Is HERE!

    Jake Taylor
    15 Jul 2014 | 1:24 pm
    Tomorrow, marketers and SEO professionals will flock to the Windy City to divulge and consume tasty tactics and succulent SEO secrets. The inaugural Searchmetrics Visbility_14 conference has arrived. When Marcus Tober, Founder and CTO of Searchmetrics, began developing search analytics software, the landscape was quickly evolving. Now both Marcus and his company are mainstay SEO names.  Visability14 is Marcus Tober’s take on the SEO universe, embodied with sessions, speakers, concepts and energy. Visbility14 promises to serve an eclectic mix of topics ranging from content optimization to…
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    PPC Consulting Firm »

  • Hey 501(c)(3) Nonprofits! Want $10k in FREE Adwords Advertising?

    Greg Meyers
    24 Jul 2014 | 12:52 pm
    Google Grants Overview: Google Grants is a unique one-of-a-kind advertising program which is designed specifically for 501(c)(3) Nonprofit organizations. The goal of this program is to utilize and transform the Google Adwords system into a powerful tool to spread advocacy, awareness, volunteer-ism and provide the ability to increase donations. Google provides approved 501(c)(3) Nonprofits with $10,000 per month in in-kind AdWords™ advertising. However, if the Nonprofit consistently spenda the $10k per month for at least three months, Google will increase your monthly allowance beyond the…
  • Why Startups Need To Think Search Marketing First

    Greg Meyers
    3 Jul 2014 | 9:44 am
    Many Startups during their infancy stage have very limited resources as well as advertising budgets to help them get off the ground running. So, there is this delicate dilemma that Startups face where they need “Big Agency” services but can only afford small “Boutique” prices. In this post, I will discuss experiences as a Startup Agency myself and how I helped various Startup clients get off the ground and succeed even further once they reached that next level of success. Understanding Startup Mentality: I was fortunate enough to be a part of two Tech Startups before…
  • Inside Adwords Blog Makes Obvious Claim About Branding in PPC

    Greg Meyers
    19 Jun 2014 | 8:38 am
    Frankly speaking, I am rather shocked that the June 16th 2014 post in the Inside Adwords Blog entitled: New Study: Search Ads Lift Brand Awareness, concluded something that many PPC Marketers have already known to be true based on their own experiences of the “Non-Brand vs. Brand” typical life cycle. Personally, I have been involved in many debates with clients who did not want to bid on their brand terms because they felt that since they were already ranked #1 organically, what’s the use of spending more money. Moreover, what the client did not understand about bidding on…
  • Bing Ads Editor 10.4 Will Make Advertisers Very Happy!

    Greg Meyers
    9 Jun 2014 | 8:09 am
    In the past and recent future, the Bing Ads Editor has not been the most user-friendly tool for advertisers. It has always lagged behind the Adwords Editor for many reasons. However I must say I was pretty impressed with their blog post about the release of the new 10.4 version. In the post entitled “Coming Soon: Bing Ads Editor 10.4 with Extended Targeting Enhancements” author Ping Jen provides some really good “in-depth” screenshots and information that speaks directly to their users. Another interesting thing to note from this post is that the language used…
  • The Importance of Rehabilitation in PPC Marketing

    Greg Meyers
    14 May 2014 | 7:11 am
    Have you ever found yourself staring at PPC campaigns and wonder what else can I do to “move the needle”, especially after countless months of analyzing search queries, A/B Tests and Multivariate Ad Testing? If so, you’re not alone. In fact, its a very common dilemma which requires a vision of simplicity all the way from the birth of the initial launch date. In this post, I will talk about a few ideas to help bring back the life of account and possibly generate additional strategies.   Brand vs. Non-Brand: In almost all cases, Brand always Wins. However, it’s the…
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    Certified Knowledge

  • AdAlysis is Now Open: Very Limited Time Discount

    brad
    31 Jul 2014 | 7:00 am
    I’ve been working on AdAlysis (with some other team members) for a couple years, and we’re finally ready to launch the program for everyone to enjoy. AdAlysis is an automated testing platform and ad workflow system for AdWords. It will automatically determine every place where you are testing ads (segmented by effective device), and then alert you when you have statically significant results. In addition, AdAlysis has a nice workflow system so you can easily pause ads, create new ones, and only work in areas where you have actionable data. There’s a lot more features, such as: Multi Ad…
  • The Complete AdWords Audit Part 9: Ad Copy

    Wijnand Meijer
    29 Jul 2014 | 7:00 am
    This is a continuation of the AdWords Audit Series. You can see previous parts here: Introduction, Goal setting, Measurement, Campaign Settings & Bid Adjustments, Ad Extensions, Impression Share & Auction Insights, Quality Score, Account Structure and Keywords & Match Types.   My non-scientific field research tells me that there’s a 95% chance that you don’t spend enough time improving the only visible part of your account: the ad copy. I’ve seen it in many accounts: everything looks pretty good (account structure, match types, bids, budgets, settings, etc.), but new…
  • Learn About Search Intent: Why Mobile PPC Campaigns Are Different

    adamndib
    22 Jul 2014 | 7:00 am
    For some reason mobile users are not interested in your pay per click campaign. Or at least that’s what you had to conclude after reviewing your analytics. You had seen success on desktop devices with pay per click and decided it was time reach users on their mobile devices. How could you not? You read over and over how mobile is beginning to overtake desktops as the preferred method of search on the Internet. You know you need to reach users where they are, and increasingly that is mobile devices. You increased your mobile bids in your AdWords campaign and began to wait. Days went by and…
  • Would You Like Your AdWords Account Audited?

    brad
    17 Jul 2014 | 7:00 am
    We have quite a few services beyond just training videos, tools, and workshops. One of the most popular services we offer is Google AdWords account audits. I do a quite a few AdWords account audits every year. However, earlier this year we had to close down the service due to overwhelming demand combined with a  lack of time to complete all the requests. We’re going to accept 4-6 audit requests over the next 2 months. So if you’ve been waiting to have your account audited, now is the time to signup for an audit. If you’d like: Your data analyzed Performance suggestions Structural…
  • Don’t Miss the Super Early Bird Pricing for the NYC Advanced AdWords Workshop

    brad
    15 Jul 2014 | 7:00 am
    SMX East is quickly approaching, so if you’d like to attend the Advanced AdWords Workshop, it’s best to register now while the Super Early Bird Pricing is in effect. This low price will end on July 25th. The event will be held at SMX East in New York on September 29, 2014. You can use discount code: WS-AW10 to save 10% off on the early bird pricing. We sold out the last few workshops, so it is best to register early.   The Workshop Agenda The basics of the agenda can be seen below; however, I try to leave a bit of ‘wiggle room’ for in-depth Q&A and/or to add a topic at the…
 
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    The ROI Revolution Blog

  • A Remarketing Resolution Midyear Check-Up

    Emily Faggion
    28 Jul 2014 | 8:33 am
    Remarketing has been sort of a hot topic for us here at ROI Revolution lately, with last week's blog sporting some great insider tips on AdRoll remarketing from one of our seasoned analysts, and a can't-miss post on dynamic remarketing. Our recent case study also gave you an inside scoop on the techniques one retailer used to net a 785% increase in remarketing sales. Why the remarketing rush now? Well, it's mid-2014, and at the beginning of the year, we challenged you to make four remarketing resolutions for the New Year. These resolutions were designed to help you make the most of paid…
  • Google's Dynamic Remarketing - 5 Tips to Turn Lost Opportunities into Retail Gold

    Katie Childers
    25 Jul 2014 | 6:56 am
    Nearly 70% of shoppers who add products to their cart end up leaving without completing the purchase. So, what can ecommerce retailers do about these lost opportunities to convert a website visitor? Ultimately, remarketing is the best strategy for bringing back those buyers who left without making a purchase. If you can keep your brand and your products in front of motivated buyers, then they are more likely to come back to shop. Google AdWords has a powerful platform for remarketing to past site visitors. Early this year, I hosted a web clinic on 4 remarketing resolutions for 2014. A big…
  • AdRoll Remarketing - Reach Your Customers. Everywhere.

    Erica Fairchild
    23 Jul 2014 | 6:12 am
    Roughly 1-2% of shoppers convert on their first visit to an online store. But what about that other 98% that come to your site but leave before making a purchase? That is where a successful remarketing strategy can take your business to the next level. Remarketing is the best way to keep your past site visitors engaged with your brand. By keeping track of people who visit your site, remarketing gives you the ability to display ads to these potential customers as they browse other sites across the web. Remarketing in Google AdWords is certainly an effective way to bring back buyers. But, what…
  • A Tale of Two Landing Pages

    Emily Faggion
    21 Jul 2014 | 2:26 pm
    Last week, we talked about the importance of your Quality Score in reaching your ROI goals. In case you missed the post, Quality Score is a good way to keep tabs on the "customer service" rating of your AdWords campaigns. Today, we're going to discuss one key element of your Quality Score--your landing page--through the eyes of your user. Once upon a time, there was a hardworking soccer mom. Stacey was her name, and all year she'd been anticipating a summer mountain vacation with her family. Finally, with one week left until the big day, Stacey dug the hiking boots from her college days out…
  • Is the Display Network's Extended Keyword Match Draining Your Ad Spend?

    Kyle Duchesneau
    15 Jul 2014 | 9:11 pm
    For years advertisers on Google's Display Network were limited to Keyword Contextual Targeting, which serves your ads on website content relevant to your keywords. In recent years, Google has greatly expanded their targeting options, providing an unrivaled ability to find your perfect audience. While keyword targeting is a mainstay for advertisers, this feature itself has also evolved. Last year, Google expanded keyword matching with an extra layer of behavior-based targeting criteria called "extended keyword match." The Rise of Extended Keyword Match on Display There is no specific…
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    WordPress Tag: Pay-Per-Click

  • Digital Dependence, pt.2

    Less Lethal Alternatives
    9 Jul 2014 | 7:16 pm
    SOURCE: IDC InfoBrief sponsored by Intel
  • Digital Dependence, pt.1

    Less Lethal Alternatives
    9 Jul 2014 | 7:08 pm
    SOURCE: IDC InfoBrief sponsored by Intel
  • 4th July 2014 - Paid Search Campaign Tips

    Justin Wilson
    8 Jul 2014 | 5:00 pm
    If you are looking to capture new visitors to your website in the short- term then paid search advertising might well be the tactic you are looking for. It is a great way to get your company in front of people who are searching for your product or service – and a handy short-cut to a good position on a search engines ranking! I am going to focus on Google here because it is so dominant here in the UK. It might be that Google is not the most popular search engine where you are, but hopefully these principles will help you with your search engine of choice. So, you have decided to launch…
  • MAPS & REPUTATION MANAGEMENT

    Less Lethal Alternatives
    8 Jul 2014 | 3:29 pm
  • Job Aggregators - Fad or Future?

    sailorannzalie
    8 Jul 2014 | 7:50 am
    A few months ago I did a presentation to a group of global recruitment professionals on social recruiting tools and sourcing channels. The group comprised of HR leaders and many “seasoned’ Recruiters; some of which had been in the industry for more than 15 years. As I started showing the breakdown of hire yield by sourcing channel, a single hand went up and delicately asked “What’s a job aggregator?” As the question was asked I could see heads bobbing in unison relieved that someone had the courage to ask the question. I have to admit, that with all the traction job aggregators have…
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    Alan Mitchell | Search Marketing Techniques | PPC Blog

  • RLSA – 60 Minute Google AdWords Setup Guide

    Alan Mitchell
    15 Jul 2014 | 7:04 am
    Google AdWords advertisers – have you ever wanted to get back in front of potential customers who visited your website, left your website, and then later searched Google for phrases relevant to your products and services? Thanks to RLSA (Remarketing Lists for Search Ads), now you can. Despite its overly-complex name, RLSA is actually very simple, and almost identical to the Google AdWords campaigns we’re all used to. The only difference – you’re simply adding an audience to your AdWords campaign targeting settings, so that your ads only appear to people who have previously…
  • PPC Targeting by Knowledge: Turning PPC Long-Tail Theory on Its Head

    Alan Mitchell
    28 Jan 2014 | 2:26 am
    After 7 years running PPC campaigns, I thought I had it sussed. I thought that people searching for specific long-tail searches were further along in the buying cycle than people searching for shorter, generic phrases, and therefore more likely to convert. I thought that targeting long-tail keywords provided a great opportunity to segment different types of searchers, and bid differently depending on how much qualification was contained in their search. I thought long-tail keywords provided a great opportunity to respond to the specific needs and preferences of each searcher, and provide…
  • Google AdWords Sitelink Extensions: How to Find Your Optimum CPC Bid

    Alan Mitchell
    21 Sep 2013 | 5:29 pm
    When you have a finite Google AdWords budget, and your budget is being hit, all other things equal it makes sense to lower your bids until your budget is no longer being hit. That way, so the theory goes, you will get more clicks for the same budget. And since research by Google suggests that there is little difference in conversion rate by position, you could reasonably assume that a higher number of clicks is generally associated with a higher number of sales. However, ever since Google rolled out sitelink ad extensions, ads appearing in the top positions on Google are no longer similar to…
  • Google Display Network: Proof That a Higher CTR is Better For Everyone

    Alan Mitchell
    21 Aug 2013 | 8:03 pm
    Suppose you wanted to run a marketing campaign on the Google Display Network. You upload a set of image ads, specify your targeting options, and let Google serve your ads on publishers which Google believes are relevant to your targeting options. Let’s say you’re willing to pay $2.00 per click. Your ads receive 10,000 impressions and achieve a click through rate (CTR) of 0.03%, which very typical for a traditional display campaign. This means you, the advertiser, will receive 10,000 impressions x 0.03% CTR = 3 clicks. Since publishers receive 68% of revenue, total revenue from the…
  • 13 Practical Uses For Your Google Brand Ads

    Alan Mitchell
    15 Apr 2013 | 2:25 am
    Last month, eBay released a study suggesting that showing paid ads for your brand terms on Google is a complete waste of money. As an experiment, eBay paused their paid ads for the keyword ‘ebay’, and found that the reduction in clicks from their Google paid ads was made up for by an increase in clicks from their Google organic listings. eBay therefore concluded that bidding on your brand name is a complete waste of money.     Wrong. If, like eBay, you simply provide an ad message for your brand name as a mere navigational link (i.e. so that your simply appear in the…
 
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    WordStream

  • WordStream’s Best of the Month: July Edition

    Dan Shewan
    1 Aug 2014 | 6:36 am
    Ah, July – a month of sunshine, fireworks, and of people gently nudging irregularly shaped meat patties on the grill while wearing novelty aprons. July was also a very interesting month in search marketing, with a lot of shake-ups on the SERP, starting with authorship photos.Oh dear.Let’s take a look back at the most popular WordStream blog posts from July, just in case you missed them while you were out camping, kayaking or whatever else you ended up doing.1. The Real Reason Google Plus Authorship Photos Are Gone In our most popular post in July, Larry delved into the real reasons why…
  • How to Develop Brand Voice Through Content Marketing

    Dan Shewan
    31 Jul 2014 | 6:44 am
    Many companies approach brand voice as an afterthought. Although it’s important to ensure that you’re creating great content, publishing on a regular basis, and keeping an eye on your overall content strategy, without a cohesive and consistent brand voice, you could end up confusing your most loyal fans or deterring would-be customers.In today’s post, we’ll be looking at the elements of brand voice, how to develop brand voice through content, and we’ll also examine several examples of brands that have leveraged content to strengthen their brand and reinforce key messaging.What is…
  • AdWords Ad Scheduling, AKA Dayparting, in 5 Steps [With Data!]

    Margot daCunha
    30 Jul 2014 | 6:07 am
    Have you ever heard the saying knowledge is power? ... Well, then why don’t you have any idea what days of the week and times of the day your ads are knocking it out of the park in terms of impressions, conversions, CPA, or whatever other metrics are important to you?If you’ve been running your AdWords account a few months or more, it’s time to dive into the Dimensions tab (aka one of my favorite spots in to hang out in AdWords) and see what times and days provide the most value to your business. In AdWords, this is known as dayparting (not to be mistaken with day partying) or ad…
  • Announcing PPC University: Learn PPC Marketing for Free

    Larry Kim
    29 Jul 2014 | 6:17 am
    If you want to maximize your online advertising budget and get the most bang for your buck, you need a solid understanding of how paid search works and how to best manage your AdWords account. But where do you even start?Paid search marketing can be incredibly intimidating for beginners – there's a lot to learn and the industry is changing all the time. Google AdWords is the most popular PPC platform, but can also be the most complicated for marketers to manage. In 2013 alone, Google made over a thousand changes to AdWords. It's almost impossible to keep up.That’s why we created…
  • 32 Free (& Almost Free) Content Marketing Tools

    Megan Marrs
    28 Jul 2014 | 5:09 am
    Marketers get by with a little help from their friends – well let us introduce you to 32 new content marketing friends to help make your job a little easier.Note: The aim was to only list free content marketing tools, but there are a few paid ones in the mix as well (freebies only get you so far). Unless marked as a paid tool, all content tools listed here have at least some kind of free offering.Content Curation Tools (finding great stuff to share)Content Creation Tools (create your own awesome stuff to share)Tools for Finding Content Creators (find folks to make custom content for…
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    Portent » PPC

  • Creating Personas for PPC

    Elizabeth Marsten
    31 Jul 2014 | 11:03 am
    “Persona” is not a PPC word, but it’s certainly been seeing a lot more attention as we shift more and more away from keywords to audiences, intent, behaviors and (not provided). Some marketers keep their personas in their heads, some write them on Post-Its and some have fully written profiles with pictures and graphs. I did a Live Ad Copy Workshop at PPC HeroCon where I gave out Post-Its in the furtive hope that attendees would take them home and write personas and stick them on their monitors. My favorite was for a site that sold compression stockings. We ended up coming up ads for…
  • Leverage Attribution Modeling for PPC

    Ryan Moothart
    28 May 2014 | 7:00 am
    Are you using attribution modeling or assisted conversion data in your PPC reports? If you’re not, you’re missing out on some golden opportunities to leverage data to your advantage. We all know the LNDC model (last non-direct click model—the default used by Google Analytics) is not comprehensive enough for us to see the big picture. Continuing to rely on this model for year-over-year analysis may be necessary for the sake of consistent reporting; for a long time, that was the only model Google Analytics offered. But by also highlighting the important trends witnessed by comparing…
  • Harvesting Bulk Negative Keywords with Excel

    Admin
    1 May 2014 | 7:00 am
    When I was just a boy, my mother caught me out behind the garage using broad match. I couldn’t sit for a week. Later, I graduated to the hard stuff: media buys, QR codes, direct mail… bad scene, man. Still, despite her best attempts at teaching me the value of plus signs, quotes and brackets, some habits die hard. The wide net of broad match, though often shunned in favor of more stringent match types, still has its place in the world of paid search. However, as Google and Bing-Hoo race to loosen the elasticity of these matches, wrestling your matched queries into submission…
  • (not provided) for Advertisers™ Beta

    Michael Wiegand
    11 Apr 2014 | 12:00 pm
    If you’re a paid search professional and you’ve been within a stone’s throw of a computer in the last 48 hours, you’ve probably heard: they’re coming for your search query data. Search Engine Land broke the story, Google themselves confirmed it: “Today, we are extending our efforts to keep search secure by removing the query from the referrer on ad clicks originating from SSL searches on Google.com.” Queries, Not Keywords Marin Software’s CMO Matt Ackley — on the heels of the report — quickly made the distinction between search query data and keyword data noting:…
  • Exploring the Potential Impact of Google AdWords Online Video Ads

    Chad Kearns
    21 Mar 2014 | 7:00 am
    Last December, PPC Essentials, Portent’s pay-per-click service offering designed for growing small businesses, took a leap of faith in positioning ourselves as an entity offering services separately from Portent’s enterprise-level internet marketing services. One essential element of this transition was to create a new website for ourselves that would completely separate us from Portent’s main domain, portent.com. The Problem Operating as a standalone service under the Portent brand name, PPC Essentials had been earning the majority of its sales leads through the authority and name…
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    Learn Search Marketing!

  • Paid Search Optimization Strategies That Drive Results

    Brad Krupkin
    29 Jul 2014 | 12:45 pm
    No matter if you are brand new to paid search advertising, or you have several years under your belt, no one has the ability to create the perfect CPC campaign from day one. Hell, what defines perfect, anyway? In order to be successful at paid search marketing, you must clearly understand and define your goals The post Paid Search Optimization Strategies That Drive Results appeared first on Learn Search Marketing!.
  • 7 Guidelines for Competitive Business Intelligence & SEO Market Research

    Brad Krupkin
    3 Jul 2014 | 11:31 am
    When it comes to success with search engine marketing, half the battle is in knowing what your competitors are up to and being able to exploit that information to your advantage. Having the right competitive business intelligence tools and being able to decipher what they show with regard to SEO market research is essential to The post 7 Guidelines for Competitive Business Intelligence & SEO Market Research appeared first on Learn Search Marketing!.
  • Calculate ROI of SEO Campaigns Like the Pros

    Brad Krupkin
    25 Jun 2014 | 1:29 pm
    For many search marketers, both professional and novice, measuring the success of various marketing channels can help to understand the strengths, weaknesses and opportunities for any given tactic.  One of the most traditional ways to measure success is to determine profitability, or return on investment (ROI).  Essentially, when you calculate ROI of SEO campaigns, you The post Calculate ROI of SEO Campaigns Like the Pros appeared first on Learn Search Marketing!.
  • Understanding Conversion Tracking in Google AdWords

    Brad Krupkin
    2 Jun 2014 | 1:01 pm
    Do you know how customers find your website? Do you know what terms they use on Google to find your site, click on your ads and buy your products? Do you know how each of the terms that you buy perform against each other with regard to bringing in the most qualified visitors that complete The post Understanding Conversion Tracking in Google AdWords appeared first on Learn Search Marketing!.
  • How to Earn Free Website Traffic Through Paid Search

    Brad Krupkin
    28 May 2014 | 3:20 pm
    Free website traffic is not easy to come by these days. As a small business owner, you have to get creative with your marketing if you want to attract visitors to your website to engage with your brand, buy your products or download your information. It seems as if everyone and their brother have a The post How to Earn Free Website Traffic Through Paid Search appeared first on Learn Search Marketing!.
 
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    Local Search Solutions

  • Social Clutter: Unraveling Social Media

    Search Specialist
    8 Jul 2014 | 8:45 pm
    What social outlets are worth your time? The buzz around social media marketing has died down a little bit, especially with the advent of native advertising gaining traction in recent months. Still, it’s a viable outlet for engagement and brand building. Whether you own a brick-and-mortar shop serving a local audience or an online business that reaches customers all over the world, you’re probably using at least one social media outlet to market your business. But with so many options, you may be struggling to justify where you spend your time and dollars. Do you focus on your Facebook…
  • 5 Key Local SEO Ranking Factors

    Search Specialist
    5 Jul 2014 | 8:49 pm
    Local SEO Ranking Factors Are More Detailed Than You Might Think Business owners tend to fall in to two categories when it comes to Local SEO and what impacts a local SERP. The first are those that don’t know a thing about it, and readily admit that. The second are those that read a few blogs or about.com entries, and think it should be a breeze. To those in the second group…I’ll let my good friend Lee Corso express my sentiment below: That’s right. Not so fast my friends. The amount of factors that go in to Google’s placement in local search results is deep.
  • 14 Keys To A Successful PPC Campaign

    Search Specialist
    25 Jun 2014 | 3:02 am
    Successful PPC Campaigns Are Earned, Not Created We’ve been managing Google Adwords and Bing Ads campaigns for a long time. Most of our clients found their way to us after they’d tried, unsuccessfully, to get a positive ROI from pay per click advertising on their own. Over the years, the campaigns we’ve reviewed shared many of the same tell-tale signs of under performance. Some mistakes that novice PPC managers make are easy to overcome. Other times, it requires blowing up the whole account and starting fresh. Better than starting fresh is doing it right the first time. With that in…
  • An 80’s Rock Band Approach To Using SEO And PPC Together

    Search Specialist
    20 Jun 2014 | 6:09 pm
    Back in the 1980’s, you couldn’t turn on the radio without hearing a song by Darryl Hall and John Oates of Hall & Oates fame. With 6 number one hits and 34 Top 40 singles, it’s clear that the duo’s soulful rock music struck a chord with audiences. To this day, they credit their success to their ability to combine the best of both of their talents into songs that resonate with their audience. So what’s this have to do with digital marketing? Well, much like Hall doesn’t sound the same without Oates (and vice versa), no single digital marketing tactic will ever meet all of your…
  • The Death Of SEO Has Been Greatly Exaggerated

    Search Specialist
    14 May 2014 | 2:59 am
    SEO Is Anything But…Dead It seems there’s never a shortage of people saying that “SEO has died/is dying/will die”. We group these people one of two ways…people who don’t understand search engine optimization, and people who USED to understand search engine optimization when all it required was creating junk links and stuffing keywords in each of them. Those practices (thankfully) fall into the dead/dying/will die category, but the practice of optimizing a website for search engines will live as long as search engines live. Interestingly, some of the people that cry the loudest…
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